About those door lights…

One of the things I’ve noticed while driving the 2015 BMW X6 xDrive 35 this week that irks me a bit are the presence of what I’ll call brand (logo) lights, which are mounted on the bottom of the front doors (see above).

They’re usually only visible at night when entering or exiting the car, but man, are they bright- looking at the BMW logo the past couple of nights makes me think it could be used as a searchlight.

My issue with them, however, isn’t their appearance – nothing wrong with the BMW logo – but rather the growing number of manufacturers that seem to be offering them, with little variation. When I saw that BMW has joined the party with the X6 (and likely a bunch of other models), it marked no less than the fourth car I’ve driven in the last few months that has this feature (Mustang GT door light pictured below).20150514_211004 Although I can’t seem to find photos of them, I remember seeing similar lights on a couple of Jags and Land Rovers I’ve driven recently as well.

Look, I don’t want to come off like a ‘get off my lawn’ type here (even though that’s probably exactly how it seems), but the copycat nature of these lights is becoming a bit absurd.

I realize these lights are cosmetic, but because they’re only decorative, why not have some fun with them? instead of just putting a static light in the door like everyone else, why not add some animation? How about some sound? Maybe something that cycles on and off once or twice and gives owners something a little different?

I realize that’s not something you’re likely to see on thrifty sub-compacts where keeping a lid on costs is a key concern, but on an $87,000-plus X6, like the one I’m driving right now? Seems like a no-brainer.

Leave a Reply

